Books set in ancient Greece and Rome

Earlier this month, I gave an online workshop for Romance Writers of America. The topic of the workshop was Ancient Greece and Rome. I was asked what my favorite historical romances were in those time periods.

The workshop was Digging into the Past: Ancient Greece and Rome.

This is that requested list. Three notes: first, these appear in no particular order because as a reader, I love all books equally, and second this writer loves all books – and for this time frame some of my favorite romances are ancient ones. I love a good romance – and many of these stories have adventure and romance which is my favorite way of writing. Third, I could have chosen many books, but tried to narrow it down a bit – there are many good novels out there in this subgenre – and some have yet to be written.

Roman trilogy by Carla Capshaw (don’t you make me choose one)

The Empress of Rome saga by Kate Quinn

The King Must Die by Mary Renault

The Iliad and the Odyssey by Homer (note: my favorite edition is the one translated by Robert Fitzgerald.)

The Song of Troy by Colleen McCullough

Circe by Madeline Miller

Pompeii by Robert Harris

Boudicea: Dreaming the Eagle by Manda Scott

The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood

Time Raiders: the Greek Lover by Jocelyn Kelley

Lavania by Ursula Le Guin

About Darlene Reilley

I'm Darlene, a Book Author and Content Writer. I am the author of 22 books including Gliese 667; Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of It; and 1,001 Plots to Get You Started. I’m also a freelancer content writer.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Anthropology, Book Reviews, Creative Writing, Genre Writing, Literary Exploration, Reading, Research, Science Fiction, Writing Craft & Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment