From the Archive: Secret to My Success

From the Archive Secret to My Success

When I was in 10th grade, I played sports, did most of my homework, and worked a job after school to help out with costs. I was a latchkey kid, and often saw the TV more than I did my Mom, but I didn’t fault her-she did everything she could to keep a roof over our heads.

But one day, while procrastinating on homework, I made a decision that would change my life forever. I decided that no matter what, I was going to follow my dream of being a writer.

And though it took me over 13 years and a lot of elbow grease to publish my first novel, I wouldn’t give it up for anything. That decision changed my life. Believing in your dreams, and following up on the dream is very important. You are the only one who can make your dreams come true.

 

2017 Update: Between the books and the ghostwriting, I’m not on book #10. So keep writing. And don’t ever give up on your dream. You were given it for a reason.

 

© 2011 Darlene Reilley

All Rights Reserved.

 

About Darlene Reilley

Hey, I'm Darlene Reilley. I am a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. If you're looking for writing prompts, inspiration, and a fellow writer to commiserate with, you've come to the right place.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Inspiration, writing craft, writing life, Writing Secrets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

