A Letter-Poem Work in Progress

A Letter-Poem Work In Progress.jpg

 

Dear Writer Girl,

You say you want to write.

But you’re not.

Babe, you said years and years ago when you started this

that you were in it for the long term.

 

But it comes in ebbs and flows.

You have conflicting feels about that, I know.

I see you in the wee hours

staring at white screen

that little cursor blinking as if it were a heartbeat.

 

You play Bohemian Rhapsody

And your heart soars and dives

With the words of Queen.

You pray that it will happen…

And then your fingers meet the keys

And the dance begins

 

And you stare at the last sentence of your work in progress

And all that comes out

Is this sad poem

 

Momma

Oh-oh-oh-oh.

I don’t know why.

Sometimes, I wish I never started this project.

But then where would I be?

Would I be happy?

Would I be dancing barefoot on a beach with the man of my dreams?

 

I see a little silhouette…

But it’s not that.

I bet Galileo never had this problem.

 

My heart dances around words like dream inspire create hope work wild

And I wish that I could soar as high as the guitar strings

While I bang my head and rock out to my favorite song.

But then it comes back down

And I wonder why I do this to myself.

 

I put myself here.

In this room.

In this chair.

Alone.

With stacks of paper.

And a blank, white screen.

With nothing on it

But this little blinking black line.

 

And it is my heart beat.

Because sometimes the best part of the universe flows

Through me

Through my fingers

And into the doc.

And when that happens,

it’s magic.

And art.

And work.

And craft.

And delight.

And life.

And love.

And that’s why I breathe.

So, go.

Write your damn novel.

 

Love,

Your Future Self [Who is Writing]

 

 

 

 

About Darlene Reilley

Hey, I'm Darlene Reilley. I am a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. If you're looking for writing prompts, inspiration, and a fellow writer to commiserate with, you've come to the right place.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Inspiration, Lifestyle, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Letter-Poem Work in Progress

  1. Pingback: Leap of Faith | Dar Writes

Leave a Reply

