American Girl

American Girl

American Girl

Darlene Reilley

 

I’m red white and blue from my head down to my cowboy boots,

I can belt out a country song as well as anyone.

I’m an American Girl.

I’ve got family going back a while.

Some are heroes and some rebels,

but all have one thing in common: we’re all patriots.

 

I’m an American Girl.

Red White and Blue,

from my head down to my tennis shoes.

I can sing and dance along to almost any song

and the day will come when I won’t have to dance alone.

 

I’m a modern girl.

I learned teamwork on a softball field.

I can cook, chart a company course or thread a needle.

From the board room to the home, I roam anywhere I want to go.

Fulfilling my dreams, life’s not got me down.

It’s all uphill but I’ve got a smile cause I’m an American Girl.

 

Red White and Blue,

from my head down to my high black ballet shoes.

Here I come along to the tune of my song.

Red white and blue,

you can’t get through.

My colors don’t run because I don’t dance alone.

 

Red white and blue,

from my head down to my pointed high heel shoes.

I’ve got the map, come on,

let’s go down this dusty back road

and dance together to the tune of our song

because we don’t dance alone.

 

 

Happy Fourth of July to all Americans!

Be safe! Don’t forget to write. 

Dar 

 

Like this? Follow this blog in the top right corner of the screen!

About Darlene Reilley

Hey, I'm Darlene Reilley. I am a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. If you're looking for writing prompts, inspiration, and a fellow writer to commiserate with, you've come to the right place.
This entry was posted in poetry, writing life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

