Coffee Talk and Writer Secrets

Coffee Talk and Writer Secrets.jpg

Good morning, writers.

How is the writing going?

Have you done your 48-hour check?

Have you written in the last 24 hours? Have you planned when are you writing in the next 24?

I’ve been thinking a lot about where I am and where I want to go with my writing. Of course, I would never subject you to the hours of journaling, boxes of content, oodles of computer files, or piles of index cards. I made a promise to the malamute to never talk about the two index cards she ate. I hope it was nothing valuable (have you ever tried to pull an index card from a malamute’s mouth? Her teeth are huge and then she thinks you’re playing and tries to play with you and goes into a vocal sing-a-long to your rant).

No, I won’t talk about that.

What I want to talk to you about today is something vital to the health and happiness of every writer.

What I want to talk to you about today is something vital to the health and happiness of every writer. Something you can use when you’re in your writer place and the you-know-what hits the fan. Today, I’m sharing one of my favorite writer secrets with you.

But first, coffee.

Do you have coffee? Tea? Something to drink? Because this is important – finding the beverage that makes you happy, sustains life, and the like is essential to our happiness as a writer. It could be water, coffee, tea…choose the thing that makes you happy. While we’re at it, my dietician’s voice is in the back of my mind shouting, “not too much sugar! And no sugar substitutes! We’re about the long-term goals here!”

She would be happy with my coffee with a teeny bit of sugar, and would probably say the soy milk inside has protein, but, Dar, you could do better. I bet she would love it if I went with black coffee. I’m not that girl yet. A girl’s got to live a little, right?

Mmm…coffee.

Darlene and Eliot

Okay, now that we’re both caffeinated, I’d like you to consider something.

Ready?

You, my darling writer, are a glittering, word-kicking star.

That’s right.

You are a glittering, word-kicking star,

I mean that quite literally.

You have the power within you to bring light to darkness. To fight tyranny or oppression or persecution with your words.

You have the capacity to be great.

I can hear the voice in my head, you know the one – the one that says, “Remember when you did this exercise and you wrote thirty-three times ‘I am a glittering, word-kicking star of a writer and I will persist’ and then, after each time, you wrote down the conflicting narrative that runs in your head from me, your inner critic, who says if you were a glittering, word-kicking star, you would have sold your freaking novels? You would be writing another book? Remember that? Oh, and sunshine, while we’re at it, you should really clean your desk…file stuff…and do you really think you have this writing thing in you? Really?” 

I hate that voice.

I HATE THAT VOICE.

We all have that voice inside us that screams when we try something new, when we step out of our bubble, when we try harder.

But, here’s the thing: you don’t have to listen to that little voice when they’re being cranky or rude or just plain mean.

You have the power to control the narrative in your mind.

You, writer, are a glittering, word-kicking star.

Like the North Star.

You, dear writer, have the capacity to step up your game, level up your writing, and be the light in a galaxy of darkness.

Earlier this week, my sister made me watch a TED talk I had seen ages ago. I would recommend you watch it before you write. Mel Robbins is a force of nature we all need in our corners.

How to stop screwing yourself over | Mel Robbins

Mel’s talk inspired me to think of the force it takes to get out of bed, brew a cup of coffee, and boot up the computer. It inspired this blog entry.

Because we all need someone in our lives who helps us step up our game and change our lives.

And that’s what I want this blog to be for you.

In my writerly musings this week, I came up with an amended game plan for this blog, and for my writing career. DarWrites will continue to be a source of writerly inspiration and conversation, but I also want to empower you as a writer to do your thing.

You must write.

So must I.

What say we inspire each other?

DarWrites will continue to cover what it has all along: the business of writing, the art and craft of writing, and inspiration for writers.

Something else interesting happened. I realized that I never limited myself to the idea of being a fiction writer or a nonfiction writer. Some people say that you must “narrow your niche.” But I disagree. I think you should write whatever is in your heart to write. Sometimes that is business writing for clients, and other times that is working on the novel.

I challenge you to do the same.

Something interesting happens when I work in both sections: my fiction inspires my nonfiction – it makes me think outside the box, and my nonfiction informs my fiction.

Let’s shake the covers of our writing lives, look in the file boxes of our computers and closets, and be inspired by what we’ve accomplished.

Because we have accomplished a lot!

And here’s the thing – you will do even more.

So let’s get coffee or tea, be inspired, and pull out our notebooks or computers – and let’s sit down and take time to do what we love – write.

Today is the day to start the next chapter of your life.

It’s up to you to choose what you write.

Make it a good one.

Write on,

Darlene

 

20160801_183533

Darlene and Shasta

 

 

About Darlene Reilley

Hey, I'm Darlene Reilley. I am a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. If you're looking for writing prompts, inspiration, and a fellow writer to commiserate with, you've come to the right place.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Lifestyle, Writing Prompts, Writing Secrets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffee Talk and Writer Secrets

Leave a Reply

