Last Call to Sign up for Anthropology, Archaeology, and Romance Workshop!

Last Call to Sign Up for Anthropology,.jpg

Join me in a fun writing adventure!

 

Dear Writer,

Are you writing characters you love that grow and have fascinating lives?

Are your worlds unique?

Do you want to write an anthropologist more fascinating than Nora Robert’s Callie Dunbright in Birthright? [I love this book!] How about Kathy Reich’s Temperance “Bones” Brennan?

Darlene-Reilley.AnatomyAnthropologist

Do you want to create an alien culture that is cool and plausible? Want to know why aliens can’t mingle with humanity (without serious genetic intervention)?

I can help you do that.

Anthropological Science Fiction Romance

This is my target – where I write.

I’m Darlene. I’m a writer, editor, and anthropological renaissance woman. I studied anthro at Pacific Lutheran University where I graduated with honors. I’m here because I want to help you make your worlds unique and your characters shine even more. I do what I do because I am a bookworm who wants to read your work – step into the shoes of an Earth girl and fall in love with your hero.

I do what I do because of that passion – I write at the convergence of anthropology, archaeology, romance, and science fiction. And I want to share my expertise with you.

I’ve hung out with, studied with, and learned about anthropologists, archaeologists, and cultures the world over. While there, I learned specific details that will make your characters unique.

By speaking in the lingo of the anthropologist and exploring their world from an insider’s point of view, you’ll get insight into witty, fun characters like my Gaea Jackson who grew up traveling from dig to dig.

The Four Fields of Anthropology

This is a fun writer workshop geared to bringing history, future history, and awesome insights into your work to crank up cultures and meaning. We’ll:

  • explore the connection between adventure and romance
  • get to work with interesting writing prompts
  • create a unique world and culture
  • learn about the unique aspects of interesting cultures
  • do an anthropology exploration online – let’s dig!
  • play with the connection of humor and reading

By the end, you’ll understand why anthropologists laugh when they hear about the Nacirema study, know the anthropology song [a rite of passage], and walk away feeling confident in your skills.

My workshop, Anthropology, Archaeology, and Romance is about helping writers create developed worlds and characters by using the four fields of anthropology. Attending to the societies in your work will make characters richer.

Want more details? Check out these posts:

Top 10 Reasons to Take the Anthropology Archaeology Romance Writer Workshop at the FF&P Blog – the fun things we’ll cover and the type of humor I go for – I love good anthropology jokes…it’s humerus!

A Funny thing Happened on the Way to Writing is a  fun post that explores the start of my side trip into anthropology.

 

Let’s build stuff!

Build it to Last.

Sunday is the last day for sign ups, so if you’ve meant to sign up, please do so here: Anthropology, Archaeology, and Romance.

I hope to see you there!

Write on,

Darlene

 

 

About Darlene Reilley

Hey, I'm Darlene Reilley. I am a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. If you're looking for writing prompts, inspiration, and a fellow writer to commiserate with, you've come to the right place.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Anthropology, Creative Writing, Workshops and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last Call to Sign up for Anthropology, Archaeology, and Romance Workshop!

  1. Pingback: Setting Writing Goals: April 2017 | Dar Writes

Leave a Reply

