Don’t Melt with Chris Weigand

Don't Melt.jpg

Hi, writers! I hope you’re having a fantastic and productive week. We’ve got a guest speaker today on DarwritesMy BWF (best writer friend) and former National Novel Writing Month co-ML Chris wanted to share some writing tips!

Besides being a busy mom and engaged grandma, Chris Weigand is a Christian YA author. She wrote the trilogy starting with the Palace of Twelve Pillars and co-authors the Galactic Safety Council books with Ricci Moore. Take it away, Chris!   

WIN_20170309_11_43_56_Pro.jpg

Chris Weigand in her writing lair!

So a few weeks Dar asked me to write a post for her blog, and I agreed. Since then I have struggled to find an idea while dealing with several life issues that have taken over my life, from my daughter’s baby shower, to my mom having back surgery and going into rehab, to helping my teenage daughter with her high school musical. My writing has taken a back seat to these issues as well as walking a few days a week and my spiritual life. Earlier this week my anxiety decided to chime in in the form of fighting with my husband and daughter. I realized that I had been neglecting things and I needed to make  a change.

The lesson I learned through all of this is that as a writer, as a daughter, as a mother, as a wife that sometimes I have to take time out and pay attention to myself. I need to take care of myself before I can be at my best to take care of others.

The first step I took is to walk and pray. Driving to the park I argued with myself: I don’t have time for this, there’s a million things on my plate and I should go home and write. Something kept me driving to the park and after ten minutes of walking and praying I felt recharged and ready to take on the other things that were calling to me.

The second thing I realized is that I need to write. Even it was just one sentence a day, I needed to write something. I had been procrastinating, excusing and not dedicating time to writing. Coming up with a plan of attack and signing up for April’s Camp NaNoWriMo were first steps in fleshing out a plan that is already in place and being ignored. Prioritizing projects and signing up for Dar’s writing class [spoiler alert!] were my second step. And then finally sitting down and doing some writing.  Now I have a plan in place to feed success while making sure that I don’t neglect the rest of my life.

I guess the whole point of this post is to remind writers to take time for yourselves. Find the thing that feeds your soul then do it. Mine is making sure that I walk, that I pray, that I write. Each of us needs to find their own food, but it is important that you find it, because without it things can fall apart quickly.

One other thing to note is don’t beat yourself up, don’t feel guilty about what you aren’t getting done. Instead celebrate what you are accomplishing, no matter how small the win, count it as a win. If you only find the time to write one sentence, look at it as one sentence that wasn’t written before and it may be the one sentence that finishes the story or starts a new story.

So I guess the points to take away from this:

1.       Take care of yourself. If you aren’t at your best then you can’t be the best for anyone else.

2.       Since this is a blog for writers: Write, even if it’s only one sentence. Work on your w.i.p., do morning pages, write a blog post, do a journal entry just make sure to write.

3.       Don’t beat yourself up, give yourself a break. Be okay with whatever progress you make. Learn to forgive yourself in life as well as in writing.

Be all you can be for yourself and your family. Write on fellow writers. Live on fellow people.

Write on!

Chris

 Chris Weigand.jpg

Christina Weigand’s a writer, wife, and mother of three grown children and a high school daughter. She is also Nana to three granddaughters. She lives with her husband and youngest daughter in Pennsylvania after a short sabbatical in the lovely state of Washington. Through her writing she strives to share the Word of God and help people young and old to realize the love and mercy He has for everyone. When she’s not writing she’s active in her local Church as a lector, Bible Study, and helping children develop a love for reading and writing. Jesus fills her home with love as she shares Him through her writing. Christina Weigand’s a writer, wife, and mother of four and Nana to three. Through her writing she strives to share God and help people to realize His love and mercy.

 

 

About Darlene Reilley

Hey, I'm Darlene Reilley. I am a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. If you're looking for writing prompts, inspiration, and a fellow writer to commiserate with, you've come to the right place.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Writer Visits, Writers, Writing Secrets and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t Melt with Chris Weigand

  1. Pingback: How to Start Freelance Writing Part 2: The Plan | Dar Writes

Leave a Reply

