Tameri Etherton Interview

Tameri Etherton Interview.jpgHello!

One of my goals in life is to merge my love of reading and writing. This blog is dedicated to that passion—the mix of reader and writer who wants to play with words and to dive deep into the imagined world.

With that in mind, I met a really awesome lady on Facebook last month!

Are you ready for a bit of readerly and writerly love?

I’d like to introduce you (or reintroduce you) to award winning author Tameri Etherton. She penned the fantasy series The Song of the Swords. Tameri was gracious to answer a few questions while packing and traveling to Scotland. Tameri writes “kickass heroines” and “hot heroes” (my favorite romantic combo!)

tameri-etherton

Tameri Etherton in her writing lair!

 

What were the early influences on your writing and how do they resonate with your writing?

My earliest influences were David Eddings and Anne Rice. I read everything by them over and over again. What I learned from those two were to tell a good story. One that stays with readers long after they turn the last page. You can write the prettiest sentence, but it’s your characters and story that will entertain readers.

 

What books have fortified you as a writer?

Hmm, interesting question. Fortified me? I’d have to say books that teach me something without my even realizing they did. When, long after I’ve finished the the book I’m still thinking of a lesson, or a character, and something they did. Wuthering Heights is one that I often reflect back to. Also, all of the Elizabethan poets. They told stories and delivered historical anecdotes within the context of poetry. It’s lyrical and magical. It’s also a great way to glean what was happening in the world, socially, politically, and economically at that time.

 

What aspects of craft are hardest for you? How did you overcome them?

Revisions and edits! Oh man. They are tough, but necessary. I actually enjoy revisions and edits, but it’s hard to go through and see what you need to fix, where you can tighten. The writing part is the easiest, it’s the polishing that I need to love more.

 

What props are essential for you to write?

Nothing! Just a pen and paper, or a laptop. I sometimes listen to music, sometimes write at coffee shops, and sometimes I’m in my office where it’s a world of pink sparkly fabulousness. I learned a long time ago not to have any ‘rituals’ associated with writing. If those props or rituals are gone, then so is my muse. What was the best money you ever spent as a writer? On an amazing artist and an editor. They’re both worth their weight in gold. I am in love with all of my fantasy covers and have Carol Phillips to thank for them. She’s gifted, truly.

 

What are you reading now?

The Talon Saga by Julie Kagawa

 

What are you working on now?

I’m feverishly working on edits and revisions for The Ruins of Mallaqai, book three in the Song of the Swords series. I’m also working on a novella for the series as well as an erotic romance novella for a new series. I like to mix it up and keep it fresh.

 

I’m so glad Tameri was able to share her work and writer’s lair with me. And I must admit, Talon by Julie Kagawa is on my reading list too! Until next time, keep reading and writing!

Write on,

Darlene

 

 

Can’t get enough and want more? Check these links out!

Write First! Make Yourself and Your Writing a Priority by Tameri Etherton

Romance Writers of America

Writing World’s Writing Romance

Writer’s Digest’s How to Write a Romance Novel

 

About Darlene Reilley

Hey, I'm Darlene Reilley. I am a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. If you're looking for writing prompts, inspiration, and a fellow writer to commiserate with, you've come to the right place.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Interviews, Romance, Writers, Writing Secrets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tameri Etherton Interview

  1. Hey Darlene!

    Thank you so much for having me here. I hope your readers enjoyed getting to know me. Keep writing and reading! The world needs your stories.

    xoxo,
    Tameri

Leave a Reply

