The Post-MFA Rambling

The Post-MFA Rambling.jpg

This writer has grown since the last post here. I created another website, self-published a romance novel under a pseudonym, took a Masterclass with James Patterson, read a few hundred books, and traveled the US via train. I’m going to take a moment here and share one of the most special moments of my life with you. Are you ready?

I finished my thesis. It’s a science fiction novel about an amnesiac half-goddess, half-alien who grew up on Earth.

Looking back, I can see the difference in my writing and where the shifts occurred, and the difference between 2009 and 2017 Darlene is as vast an expanse as an ocean. I’d like to share a few highlights with you.

My Goddard Top 10

10. Salons

9. Reading Time

8. The Call from Paul

7. Packet Pressure

6. Residencies

5. Friends and Colleagues

4. Writing Time

3. Completion of the First Draft

2. Finished Thesis

and 1. is going to happen in February…I’m walking at my graduation.

That feels strange…when I set my plan in 2010, I didn’t look past this moment-it was an end-game for me. As time passed, I looked to the future and it’s a future filled with words. I didn’t know when I set out that this endeavor would change my life and my outlook. But little by little the water came in and my boat lifted. It feels like I’m on a river, following the current.

More to come on reading, writing, and the life. I found out what I want to say. Stick around and enjoy the journey with me. I’d love to hear how you’ve grown as a writer.

Best,

Darlene

DarWrites

Darlene Reilley, writer

About Darlene Reilley

Hey, I'm Darlene Reilley. I am a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. If you're looking for writing prompts, inspiration, and a fellow writer to commiserate with, you've come to the right place.
This entry was posted in Divantinum, Writers, Writing Secrets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Post-MFA Rambling

  1. Linda H says:

    Writing is quite a journey isn’t it? In the past 4 years that I’ve been working on writing, I have found my tribe, overcome insecurities, and learned some really basic things like what ‘head-hopping’ is. 🙂 It hasn’t been easy, but it’s a path I chose for myself and I can’t imagine achieving self-growth in any other way.

  2. WAY to go, Darlene! You’re rocking this MFA thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

