Recommended Reading Part 1

Happy Holidays! It’s been quiet on here recently and for good reason. I’ve been writing and reading, which, according to Stephen King and my advisors, are the keys necessary to good writing. I believe all writers have a love of reading deep in the heart. With that in mind, I’m sharing my favorite books I read in 2014. If you’re looking for a good book to read or give as a gift, these are great ones. Just a note: they link to Goodreads descriptions; if you don’t have an account already, I highly you recommend it! I love being able to store my books there and talk with other readers and writers!

The best books I read in 2014:

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline is a rollicking sci-fi ride that will take you back to the future…and into the heart of the 1970s. Check it out.

Motherless Brooklyn by Jonathan Lethem is both shocking and delicious! Check out this detective story with a twist.

Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. Why I haven’t read this book before is the question, but it’s awesome! Go check it out and then find a pattern for the socks and knit them; I did.

The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin. She is one of my heroes, and not just because her father was one of the Fathers of Anthropology. This is an amazing read with foreign cultures and treks across snow-clad crevices.

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. No, I didn’t watch the movie before I saw the book. I recorded the movie and then read the book and watched the book the same day. And yes, it is amazing. But the book is better than the movie, so do yourself a favor and read it.

Wild by Cheryl Strayed. I see a theme here, but it and Cloud Atlas were not connected in my mind as movies. I read this because it was mentioned at the Goddard Residency I went to this fall; the lady who recommended it was right, the book was fabulous and very in-your-face. It made me want to hike more.

On Writing by Stephen King. Just read it. And when you come to the booklist, go ahead and compare yours to his. I did.

The Legend of Banzai Maguire by Susan Grant. Susan Grant is a delicious treat and one of my favorite science fiction romance writers. I want more. Lots more.

Bomb: The race to Build – and Steal – the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon Steve Sheinkin is a thrill ride and then some! There are many dimensions to the story and before I read it, I only had a quarter of the story. This was wonderful.

Chains Laurie Halse Anderson is amazing. It’s a totally different take on a historical setting that is underrepresented right now. Plus it was from a unique point of view.

The God of Small Things Arundhati Roy. Just read it.

The Morcai Batallion by Diana Palmer/Susan Kyle. This one confused me at first, because the first book is under Diana Palmer’s name, then she switched to Susan Kyle. But go ahead and read all of them, you can thank me later.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Confession: I love this writer and met her while studying at Pacific Lutheran University; she is wonderful and fun and so are her books. Go read them!

Down in the Bottom of the Bottom of the Box by Jon Arno Lawson was a treat. This is poetry, but not just for children–it’s for anyone with a really good imagination.

Divergent by Veronica Roth. Yes, there’s a movie. No, it’s nowhere near the book. Go read it and then decide if you want to read the next two; I think the first one is the best one.

The best book I read this year was Nectar in a Sieve by Kamala Markandaya. I wrote a whole paper about why it’s the best book ever, so I won’t go into the fifteen-page details, but I will tell you this is one of the best books I’ve ever read with the most unique main character ever. And I’ve never said that about a book or character before, so that’s saying something.

I’ll be adding an update later in the month with how my first semester at Grad school went, NaNoWriMo, and update on the Divantinum Series, and more tools to help writers. This blog will be updated at the start of the new year, but I want to make sure you know my focus is and always will be writing and fiction.

Happy reading and happy writing!

Best,

Darlene

DarWrites

cropped-darwrites-logo.jpg

 

About Darlene Reilley

Hey, I'm Darlene Reilley. I am a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. If you're looking for writing prompts, inspiration, and a fellow writer to commiserate with, you've come to the right place.
This entry was posted in Readings, Writing Secrets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

